You are here

371 Windjammer

Request info Add to Favorites Printer-friendly version

Description

The Windjammer is a Classic Kitty Hawk Beach Cottage!! Experience the carefree style this Outer Banks vacation home offers with hardwood flooring throughout and wrap around porches just begging for you to sit down and relax awhile!

Fantastic Panoramic Ocean views from 2 levels of decking including Sun and Shade decks with built in benches. A charcoal grill makes it easy to cook up hot dogs and hamburgers for a crowd and the screened porch is a great place to dine without the threat of insects. Walk out of your back door to the sand and Kitty Hawk beach!

This Pet Friendly home features 6 bedrooms with 2 Full Baths (shower stalls only) and 1 Half Bath. A complete kitchen including dishwasher and microwave is provided, plus a washer and dryer downstairs to take care of the sandy beach towels and bathing suits. Don't worry about packing your linens, as Bed Linens and Bath Towels are provided for your comfort and convenience (on full week rentals only).

The outside shower makes easy work of rinsing sand off (people and pets) and is a nice way to cool off after a long day at the beach. Indoors, relax with a movie on one of the 2 TVs, one with a DVD Player and VCR or play a game with the family on the Nintendo Wii. High Speed Internet access is available and 2 stereos with CD players are provided so guests can have a little beach music during their vacation.

Windjammer does not have air conditioning or heat, but does provide numerous floor fans to keep the house cool. Pets are permitted at Windjammer. NEW FOR 2016:REPEAT GUEST DISCOUNT Partial Week Stays Welcome!

Bedding: King, 2 Queens, Full, 4 Twins -- Owner Provides Bed Linens and Bath Towels on full week rentals. When Linens and Towels are not provided, a Full Linen Package including Bed Making Service is available for $212 (plus tax) Sunday to Sunday Rental

Ground Level: Utility Room with Washer/Dryer, Half Bath
Mid-Level: Living Room, Dining Area, Kitchen, Queen Bedroom, Twin Bedroom, 1 Full Bath with Shower Stall, Screened Porch, Oceanside Sun Deck, and Covered Porch with Furniture.
Top Level: King Bedrooms, Queen Bedroom, Full Bedroom, Twin Bedroom, 1 Full Bath with Shower Stall, Sun Deck with Furniture.

Amenities

Amenities

  • Town Kitty Hawk
  • Grill Charcoal
  • Pets Pets Allowed
  • Sleep Cap 12
  • Bedrooms 6
  • High Speed Internet
  • Washer and Dryer
  • Total TVs 2
  • Microwave
  • DVD Player 2
  • Fireplace Wood
  • Location Oceanfront
  • Number of Bathrooms 2.5
  • Bedding K, 2Q, F, 4 Twins
  • Turn Day Sunday
  • Dist to Beach right on sand
  • View Panoramic
  • Partials Allowed Off Season Only
  • Linens Provided
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Screened Porch
  • Stove Electric
  • Dining Seats 8 Table
  • Outdoor Shower
  • Parking (# of cars) 7
  • Additional Devices 2 CD stereo
  • Recreation Nintendo Wii
  • Beach Access off back steps
  • Repeat Guest Disc. (10%)
  • King Beds
  • Check In Office Pick Up Keys Kitty Hawk Office

Rates

DatesNightlyWeekly
06/26/16 - 08/13/16$630$3,135
08/14/16 - 08/20/16$485$2,425
08/21/16 - 08/27/16$380$1,900
08/28/16 - 09/03/16$360$1,800
09/04/16 - 09/10/16$280$1,385
09/11/16 - 10/08/16$260$1,285
10/09/16 - 01/06/17$200$995

Calendar

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
July 2016
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2016
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
September 2016
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
October 2016
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2016
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
December 2016
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
January 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 

Reviews

Average Rating 4 of 5

"Old style beach cottage."

3 of 5

We love the fact that The Windjammer is a classic beachfront home. The location is very nice. The house offers direct access and ocean views. If you are looking for modern luxury this is NOT the rental for you. If you want to stay oceanfront at a fair price it is. The home could benefit greatly from a few small improvements and routine maintenance. Lacking AC the windows are a must for air flow but many had damaged screens or no screens. The half bath is little more than the size of a closet and would benefit greatly from a fan. The kitchen/dinning area is small for a six bedroom home. There were many times one individual would have to wait to gain access to the refrigerator or microwave because there was two others in the kitchen. For the price we were satisfied and would consider the property again.

Manager Response:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review; we value your time as well as the feedback. We are pleased that you can appreciate the many positive aspects of this classic-style beach cottage, and I will forward your comments/suggestions to the owners...especially regarding the screens...with no AC that is especially important! We hope that you will vacation with us again soon!

-William C on 06/11/2016

 

"Great location but poorly maintained home"

3 of 5

The location of this property can't be beat, but the owners/rental property very poorly maintain this home. Furthermore, given the amount of money we paid to rent this home for a week (nearly $4000), this home should definitely have window A/C units in EVERY bedroom rather than only 2 of the 6. Besides it being insanely hot/humid the moment we walked into the home, the home appeared rather dirty with dust bunnies all over the floor. Furthermore, many of the comforters that were on the beds were dirty and clearly had not been washed prior to our arrival. It left us wondering what the maintenance people actually do to prepare the home for new renters. It's sad that this home isn't better maintained by the owners/rental agency because given its location and number of bedrooms, it could be a fantastic home. I have a hard time believing the surrounding beachfront homes at this price point are as poorly maintained as this house is.

Manager Response:

Thank you for posting a review; we thank you for the feedback. This is a classic Kitty Hawk beach house...and the owners and their family are here quite often. We regret the issues that you experienced, however our website clearly identifies this home as having no air conditioning or heat. The window ac units were provided as it was indeed hot and humid. We hope that you will stay with us again soon!

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 08/16/2015

 

"Jammin on the Beach"

4 of 5

We come to Nags Head every year and we've stayed in this home on 2 occasions with several years separating our stays here - the website descriptions both times (2 different rental companies) have been extremely accurate in their description of the home....wonderful location for large family with small children within steps to beachfront and we don't have to cross Beach Road - home is visible from beachfront which allows our kids to run between beach and house - huge plus for this beach loving family. Love the front and rear decks plus the screened porch! Kitchen is on the small side but workable for the benefits of the location....home has the ole Nags Head feel which adds charm & character to your time spent here. If you're looking for a lot of bells and whistles find another home....we'll stay here again in the future no doubts!

Manager Response:

Awwwhh...thanks for your accurate review! We are pleased that you and your family had a nice vacation...as it should be! This is a great good ole fashioned beach house...brings back fond memories of my family vacations here (back when times were simpler)! We hope that you will stay with us again soon!

-Elizabeth W on 09/10/2014

 

"What a Jammer ( german for misery)"

2 of 5

We spend our Easter holidays in the location. The temperatures had been about 50 F- the house has no heating-we had been freezing a lot!!( It also doesn't have an air condition) We had stormy weather with rain-the water came through the windows of the living room. We are a German family with 4 members-for us the small kitchen was sufficient ( the dishwasher was a mess),when the house is fully occupied-no idea how that should work.It's the same with the 2 small bathrooms. We liked the atmosphere in the house and the view from the rooms at the beach side.The house is noisy-there had been a biker meeting and they passed frequently on the street right in front of the house. The noises from the sea are heard 24/7 and can be disturbing as well- especially when it's windy.

Manager Response:

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; we value both your time and the feedback. We regret that you had such a miserable vacation! Unfortunately, we cannot control the weather and the description on our website does disclose the fact that this house has no heat or air conditioning. Nevertheless, we are sorry that you were uncomfortableand Bike Week sure is noisythat combined with a strong northeasterly blow did not make for a relaxing week! We do hope that you will come vacation again to our beloved Outer Banks!

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 05/08/2014

 

"Feels like home"

5 of 5

Our group had the best time, it's hard to describe! We loved the house and the location - everyone felt right at home it was as if we'd rented that every summer for years and years. Each bedroom was lovely - and the living room was a wonderful relaxing place. Thank you! We will rent it again.

Manager Response:

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; we appreciate both your time and the feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your vacation and thank you for choosing Atlantic Realty for your accommodations. Glad you felt at home...please DO come again!

-Liz Youngs on 04/23/2014

 

"Paradise in Kitty Hawk"

5 of 5

You simply can't beat the location and traditional beauty of this wonderful beach front Kitty Hawk home. Nicely updated with everything you need for a wonderful beach vacation, we highly recommend the Windjammer.

Manager Response:

Thank you for posting your comments; we value both your time and the feedback. We look forward to having you vacation with us again soon!

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 08/31/2013

 

"We would return."

4 of 5

We had a great time at Windjammer. We were greeted by the cleaning help - I believe her name was Tassie (she is to be commended) - to a very clean and pleasant house. However the cabinets and their contents seemed to have been by passed at the time of reopening the house for summer rental. I personally cleaned several myself and washed the contents of the others as I used them (pots, dishes, and glasses, etc.)Since the dishwasher has a washer arm only on the bottom, the dishes on the top rack do not get washed and/or cleaned. This is true even with careful loading. Hopefully this problem can be rectified. The house is roomy and comfortable; the beach is delightful as is the deck. All in all we look forward to renting this house again.

Manager Response:

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; we appreciate both your time and the feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your vacation and thank you for choosing Atlantic Realty for your accommodations. I have forwarded your comments to the housekeeping manager for her awareness and resolution. Thank you for cleaning and organizing the cabinetsthis home has had many guests in it since the spring, however we appreciate you giving it a much needed spiff! We do hope that you will vacation with us again!

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 08/20/2013

 

"right on the beach"

4 of 5

after the kinks where worked out the first few days all went well. house was large enough for whole family, but a bit crowded when trying to do anything in kitchen. screened in deck was great for card playing and getting out of the sun. house is in need of some repairs ( windows held open with sticks ) first day rear step was missing but was repaired the next day along with upstairs toilet that wasnt working. all in all good experience. loved being right on beach. no roads for kids to cross and we could watch children and grandchildren playing on beach. would look into house again if coming back to outer banks.

Manager Response:

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; we appreciate both your time and the feedback. While we regret the issues that you experienced until the kinks were worked out, we are pleased that you enjoyed your vacation and thank you for choosing Atlantic Realty for your accommodations. We hope that you will stay with us again on a future OBX vacation!

-cole family on 08/08/2013

 

"Absolutely excellent place to take out family!"

5 of 5

The Windjammer was a great place to stay with our family. It was very roomy, right on the beach. The living room was awesome, lots of seating an big windows to enjoy the ocean when taking a break from th outside. The porches were fabulous for watching the ocean, sitting around talking with family or anything you wanted. I would definantly stay here again!!!

Manager Response:

Thank you for posting! We are pleased that you enjoyed your vacation and hope that you will stay with us again soon!

-Wendy on 06/13/2013

 

"20 Years and Counting"

5 of 5

This will mark our 20th year with this rental. It's wonderful, and we'll be there to infinity and beyond!

Manager Response:

Thank you for your post! Happy 20th Anniversary!!!! We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to seeing you again soon!!!!!

-Beach Veterans on 04/04/2013

 

"A fun filled week at the beach with the whole family."

3 of 5

We recently spent a week at the Windjammer in Kitty Hawk. There were 13 family members ages 8 thru 76 coming together for the first time. We had a faboulous time. Our accommodations were wonderful, locatated right on the ocean and the house had 3 beautiful decks, two overlooking the ocean, beautiful views. Nice kitchen so we could prepare meals, laundry facilities to use on site. The only thing missing was airconditioning. The location was very convenient to everything, grocery stores, entertainment just about everything you could want. But, the ocean was the best. We rented beach chairs and umbrellas which were already at the house when we arrived, linens were awaiting us, all we had to do was make the beds. A wonderful time was had by all. When our week was up we hated to leave. We look forward to coming back to the area next year, but will stay at a different property with airconditioning. Days were delightful but night were very humid and even with fans sleeping was not always comfortable. Housekeeping could have been better. The house was not the cleanest but we cleaned up some and had someone come back and clean out the refrigerator. Dishwasher had been left full of dirty dishes and we swept the sand off the floors. We had a problem getting the trash picked up. Trash cans were full when we checked in on Sunday and we did not get a trash pick up until the following Thursday, even though we were promised pick up everyday when we called.

Manager Response:

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; we value both your time and the feedback. We are pleased that you and your family had a fabulous time, however we do regret the housekeeping issues! I agree that it is difficult to be without AC 24/7 in this humidity, and trash pickup cannot occur often enough this time of year, but I regret that you were misinformed...I have forwarded your comments to both our housekeeping and property managers. We hope that you will stay with us (in air conditioning!) on your next OBX vacation!

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 08/17/2012

 

"Better then Paradise"

5 of 5

You really couldn't find a better location then the Windjammer. Walk from your living room to your beach blanket in the blink of an eye. When dinner is ready on the deck, waive the kids in from the beach, only a few feet away. This home represents everything there is good about the outerbanks. Comfortable, well maintained, and filled with games and amenities that make for a perfect vacation.

Manager Response:

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We appreciate both your time and the feedback! We are pleased that you had a perfect vacation and hope you will stay with us again on your next OBX vacation!

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 07/14/2012

 

"Fun Visit to the Beach"

4 of 5

We love this house, this is the 3rd year we have stayed here. Can't wait for next year. Hopefully the weather will be better next year.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 10/03/2011

 

"wonderful oceanfront."

4 of 5

Been coming to OBX for 25 years. Location was wonderful, right on the beach. Great views. Made it here one week before Hurricane Irene.Beds were comfortable. Upstairs master bedroom was wonderful. Loved the open door to the surf. Some concern about no aC. We were lucky and came when weather was perfect. Eighty-five degrees and water 80. Lots of fans. Porch on front was nice and big. No lights on porch on ocean side. Eating late was in the dark. (We are always late) More covered porch on ocean side would be nice for older folks that can't make it to the beach. But otherwise fine. No enclosed outside shower. There was a outside shower but not enclosed. My mistake for not asking. One of my favorite things is enclosed shower. Kitchen was kinda tight for 6 bedroom house. Of course everyone has to eat every 2 hours. Other wise well equipped. Even had frying pan that was not warped! hahah all in all, very nice house. P.S. I will always rent linens from here on out. Was a good idea, and well worth it. Came with towels also. Thanks for a good time in a nice house.

Manager Response:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments on your recent stay. Your feedback is very important to us and we appreciate the opportunity to address issues that could make our guests more comfortable.

We will pass along your suggestions to the homeowner for their consideration.

Thank you for choosing Atlantic Realty for your OBX accommodaitons.

-Susan on 09/07/2011

 

"An oceanfront heaven"

5 of 5

The house makes the vacation. It's location is perfect, the beach is great and the water fantastic. Even though the house doesn't have a/C, it isn't needed because the ocean breeze is all you need - the crash of the waves puts you right to sleep, too! The only thing i would change is the size of the kitchen. :) it gets a little tight in there at lunch and dinner time!

-I heart kitty hawk on 07/14/2011

 

"As usual, we had a blast!"

5 of 5

We've been coming to this house every year for the last eighteen years and have already made a reservation again for next year. Unlike so many newer homes, the Windjammer has loads of character and feels so much like you're at home.

-Tim on 07/13/2011

 

"Good times, good times!"

5 of 5

This was a great place to stay! Excellent beach access for the little ones, and loved the casual atmosphere of the house. We could relax and enjoy the house and the beach without worrying about the kids tracking in or breaking something. The house was perfect for a family with kids. It was a very enjoyable week! We used several of the Fun in the Sun package specials, which helped our budget.

-Kathy and family on 06/23/2011

 

"Relaxing"

5 of 5

We had a very nice and relaxed vacation. perfect location for the children. Thanks to Mike and Bonnie for all their help.

-Lee on 05/26/2011

 
Kitty Hawk
Oceanfront
6 Bedrooms

Number of Bathrooms

  • 2.5

Turn Day

Sunday
Sleeps 12
Get Directions

Map and Nearby Activities